Rainy Days

Right after I developed this roll and took a look at my negatives, I almost immediately wrote this picture off as one of the not-so-good shots in the roll. Its out of focus, the tones are kind of flat, the composition is not great, and to top it off, I don’t think I washed the film well enough and there is a stain pattern (I’m guessing from the fixer) covering all images on this roll.

But for some reason I keep coming back to this image to take another look. I think its because it immediately reminds me what a rainy day in Shanghai feels like. Its not a crisp vivid image, but instead a blur of being wet and cold while trying to do whatever it is that needs to be done that day.

Leave a Reply

